Register my restaurant
Help


Mediterranean With friends

Reviews - Café du Marché Carouge

9.1/10
1842
Place du Marché 4, CH-1227 Carouge
Mediterranean
Average price CHF 87
#3 in the Top10 Carouge

Café du Marché Carouge

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent1842 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Juliarty M.6 reviews

    June 11, 2024

    10/10

    First of all I love Carouge and so it was with great pleasure I showed my cousin this special part of Carouge. Secondly, Café du Marché has great food with reasonable prices for

  • Alfonso P.1 review

    April 13, 2024

    5/10

    Was ok... Overall could be better... Had to go to the bar to remind of the drink. Couldn't remember what was ordered....

  • Alex W.1 review

    March 10, 2024

    10/10

    The food and service was great. Enthusiastic staff, wanted everything to be just right. Food was great and the restaurant has a very nice atmosphere. We will be back.

  • Francesco C.2 reviews

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    Local nickel, service top repas excellent 👌

  • Anna F.2 reviews

    February 8, 2023

    10/10

    A lovely convivial restaurant in the heart of carouge; good food, kind staff, relaxed ambience.

  • Birgit j.7 reviews

    February 2, 2023

    9.5/10

    Had an excellent lunch , service was excellent as was the food ordered. Only issue is the tables for 2 are quite small and felt to be too close together .

  • Olivier b.14 reviews

    October 28, 2022

    9.5/10

    Really nice food. Tasty and well presented in the plate. Service was nice and welcoming.

  • Mark E.13 reviews

    August 6, 2022

    9/10

    Excellent menu and service, and on a nice evening, great to get an outside table. All courses were excellent and service matched. Will happily return.

  • Marta D.7 reviews

    July 18, 2022

    7/10

    Location is amazing, food is good. However service was quite disappointing and not up to this restaurant name! It took a long time to order, to have our table cleaned before dessert, to have the dessert menu (which we had to request multiple times)...and only few tables were occupied. The waitress spilled our cafe gourmand on the table. Of course this is not a problem, but we would have appreciated a new coffee since most of it was on the table.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    We are sorry for the inconvenience caused when serving you your café gourmand and obviously regret this incident. Regarding the wait for the order of the desserts, it seems that there was a misunderstanding, since after serving the main course, our colleague offered you the dessert menu, to which you answered negatively!? We hope you will have the opportunity to come back to see us and until then we apologize. Best regards

  • Maria Carolina M.

    Maria Carolina M.1 review

    June 12, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent food, nice service and affordable prices.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Mélanie d.5 reviews

    June 9, 2022

    10/10

    Great service, great staff, great food, WHAT ELSE?? Definitely the best place to go out for either lunch or diner in Carouge!

  • Anne-Hélène C.1 review

    May 31, 2022

    10/10

    Staff really pleasant and some good choice of fancy food for a OK price.

  • Linda R.

    Linda R.4 reviews

    May 12, 2022

    10/10

    By far one of the best places in GVA

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Thank you so much... see you soon !

  • Anne-Sophie R.1 review

    May 17, 2022

    10/10

    Superbe restaurant!!

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Superbes clients ! Hâte de vous revoir... à très vite !

  • Aveen H.2 reviews

    May 1, 2022

    7/10

    Nice atmosphere sitting outside in the sunshine but the food ;apart from the dessert) was very mediocre. Same sauce seemed to be served for the streak and salmon….

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Sorry to disappoint you, but next time you can ask us to change the sauce and accompaniments... that's called communication!

  • Stewart W.4 reviews

    April 14, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Merci pour ce commentaire simple et tellement agréable. A très bientôt

  • Ciara B.18 reviews

    April 9, 2022

    9.5/10

    Wonderful food in a beautiful area of Geneva. Great service. Would certainly visit again.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Thank you very much and see you very soon... We are waiting for you!

  • Gillian D.13 reviews

    February 26, 2022

    8.5/10

    Nice place, good food, friendly service, and a terrace in the sun the whole day. Enjoyed it!

  • Chris E.1 review

    January 7, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant in a great location. Staff were really friendly and very attentive, food and wine was excellent! My wife forgot her ID to go with her Covid pass and they held the table long enough for me to go back and get it. Will definitely be returning!!

  • Matthew F.2 reviews

    December 24, 2021

    10/10

    Service and food qualify was exceptional. Good value for the area. Busy Christmas Eve lunch and the staff delivered!

  • Alina N.9 reviews

    December 19, 2021

    9.5/10

    Lovely place and great food but we were there on a December evening and it was rather chilly for comfort.

  • David S.1 review

    December 1, 2021

    10/10

    Wonderful food and wine. Friendly, attentive and timely service and a warm and friendly ambience. We had a lovely evening. Many thanks. We will be back.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Thank you for your comment ! Glad to see you soon. With the best greetings from the team "Café du Marché"

  • Myriam d.11 reviews

    October 9, 2021

    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere, very friendly staff and great food - we much enjoyed our stay.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Un grand merci pour votre commentaire et au plaisir de vous revoir. Avec les salutations de toute l'équipe du café du Marché

  • Adriano N.62 reviews

    October 7, 2021

    10/10

    No comment.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Juste une grand MERCI de la part de toute l'équipe du Café du Marché !

  • Raymund-Michael F.

    Raymund-Michael F.2 reviews

    September 30, 2021

    8/10

    Despite of the dish, i did like the policy of the restaurant.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Désolé, vous n'avez pas aimé le plat qui vous a été servi, pourtant il fait partie des suggestions les plus appréciées en ce moment ! Peut-être auriez-vous dû choisir quelque chose de plus traditionnel que le filet de canette !? Au plaisir de vous accueillir une prochaine fois. Meilleures salutations.

  • Heather R.13 reviews

    June 10, 2021

    10/10

    Delicious meal, great ambiance, lovely staff.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Merci beaucoup ! A très bientôt

  • Parthiban M.14 reviews

    September 19, 2020

    9.5/10

    Brilliant as ever. Favourite haunt in Geneva. Wish they would turnover their menu bit more often. Highly recommended. But they don't do fries!

  • Parthiban M.14 reviews

    August 14, 2020

    10/10

    We were sat outside on the other side of the road, on the edge of the square. Despite being good 5 metres from the restaurant, service was prompt. Did not have to wait for the attention of the waiters. They were there when we wanted them. Perfect. Food was brilliant. Would highly recommend. Sit outside..... charming area. Little piece of Italy in the middle of Geneva.

  • - -1 review

    February 14, 2020

    10/10

    Very attentive and friendly staff

  • Miklós K.

    Miklós K.6 reviews

    August 26, 2019

    10/10

    A hidden gem, the inner yard is a very nice and cosy place to stay for dinner. The food is amazing even for hoghbstandards, and the waiters are extra-kond and helpful. Very quick service without compromise. We will definitely visit again!

  • P.ierre G.2 reviews

    August 5, 2019

    9.5/10

    Noce dinner on a nice summer evening ;)

  • - -2 reviews

    June 28, 2019

    9.5/10

    Very good food, the courtyard atmosphere wonderful. And great service.

  • Lisa C.38 reviews

    May 18, 2019

    10/10

    The lamb cooked for 15 hours is amazing. I couldn't finish it all but took a doggie bag home! I'll look forward to having leftovers.

  • - -1 review

    May 12, 2019

    10/10

    We found this restaurant on Trip Advisor after we figured out that other places we had earmarked were closed on Sunday nights - and are we ever glad we did! We had a fantastic meal and great wine (the 'made special for the house' - Le Zebra?) in a really fun atmosphere. Would definitely recommend!

  • Zeynep G.43 reviews

    November 26, 2018

    4.5/10

    Too noisy and food was mediocre.

    Café du Marché CarougeOwner

    Sans commentaire Monsieur... vous vous êtes trompé d'endroit !

  • - -4 reviews

    October 27, 2018

    8.5/10

    Food and service were excellent. But the room was too noisy and impacted adversely on conversation. Overall, pleasant.

  • - -4 reviews

    March 1, 2018

    9.5/10

    Very good food, good value

  • Catherine C.7 reviews

    January 30, 2018

    10/10

    Perfect place for a quick business lunch. Service is quick, food is very good. The atmosphere is really nice.

  • Colette J.25 reviews

    December 3, 2017

    9.5/10

    Restaurant sympa

  • Jennifer N.3 reviews

    November 23, 2017

    9.5/10

    It was really good in general! I would love to go again. It was a bit expensive for the quantity of food, but it was delicious! The staff was very nice and they have ´help yourself´jellybeans, we loved that too! :D

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

288 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.