Register my restaurant
Help

INSIDERItalian Terrace

Reviews - Osteria Moderna

9.5/10
253
Tweede Helmersstraat 26, 1054 CJ Amsterdam
Italian
Average price €48

Osteria Moderna

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent254 reviews
9.6/10

Food

9.5/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Patrick N.

    Patrick N.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    One of the better meals I’ve ever had, each course was a beautifully prepared plate with incredible flavors.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Martin O.25 reviews

    December 16, 2023

    9.5/10

    The best Italian restaurant in Amsterdam by far!

  • Mark L.40 reviews

    December 16, 2023

    10/10

    A wonderful place to dine. We had the 5 course dinner. Tasty, nicely presented, and great staff . Each course was explained. You must go.

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Thanks Mark!!! See you soon

  • Kirsten M.2 reviews

    November 12, 2023

    9/10

    Lovely small neighborhood restaurant that delivers high quality feeling and attention to the food. I liked that we were called earlier in the day to find out if we had any food restrictions (which we did, no meat) and so when we got there all the courses were prepared according to our wishes without having to discuss that at the table. It gave a really nice feeling of special service. the wine pairings were delicious although a bit pricey at 10 euros per glass for a rather small pour. The food was excellent, the only issue was that the main course was a bit salty overpowering the fish. we will come again for sure!

  • Karla A.1 review

    October 21, 2023

    4.5/10

    Food was average, not corresponding to price vs quality. Time between courses took 30-40 minutes on a tasting menu and we were left several times without wine in glasses.

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Talking about time your booking was 18.30, you came 18.42, You didn t inform us, as universal rule of Horeca and good manners it teaches, that you want to leave early, then suddenly you told us you need to leave in 20 minutes, after you had already 2 courses and the wine pairing (it's call wine pairing cause i serve the wine with the food, If you want more wine you could simple wave at me, and i would give more wine.). 4 courses dinner, full house and you want eat in less than 2 hours without inform us?! I recommend several interesting Fast Food in the neighbourhood, the food wont be as tasty as us but you definitely eat in 30 minutes. Regards

  • David N.41 reviews

    October 20, 2023

    9.5/10

    Amazing food prepared with love

  • Michael W.3 reviews

    October 13, 2023

    10/10

    Third time here. Food is excellent and creatively made. Service is personal and I love the fact you can share the wine by the glass that accompanies the tasting menu. We will be back!

  • Martin O.25 reviews

    October 7, 2023

    9.5/10

    Best Itialian restaurant in Amsterdam. I think the best I have ever had outside of Italy. We have been there 5-6 times and always excellent.

  • Jesús Pedro N.5 reviews

    October 1, 2023

    10/10

    Exquisit and original food, cozzi ambient and excelent attention.

  • Bjorn B.1 review

    September 29, 2023

    10/10

    We recently had dinner at Osteria Moderna, this is a real hidden gem!. The food was nothing short of fantastic, offering a delightful taste of Italy that was clearly prepared with a lot of care and love. The service was equally impressive, with the waiter tool the time to explain each dish with great attention. The intimate atmosphere of the restaurant added to the overall charm of the evening. Highly recommended!

  • Erik H.4 reviews

    September 23, 2023

    10/10

    Magical place!

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Grazie once more!!!

  • Amit s.1 review

    August 27, 2023

    10/10

    Wonderful and intimate restaurant. There is no menu, you choose between 3, 4, or 5 courses. The host was excellent and provided great wine choices aside from the pairings. All of the food was incredible and delicious. Would definitely recommend

  • Thiago M.100 reviews

    July 8, 2023

    9/10

    Very good and creative dishes. Slow service, great host and waitresses.

  • Jim S.

    Jim S.1 review

    July 6, 2023

    9.5/10

    My wife and I dined here last night. Michele was very gracious and accommodating and explained food and wine pairings and ingredients in detail. Georgia’s dishes were gorgeously presented, delicious, used fresh ingredients, and combined flavors and ingredients in a creative and refreshing way. Restaurant is central but in a quieter residential neighborhood away from tourist madness. Met some locals, which made for a memorable evening. Will come back next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Ellyn O.6 reviews

    June 28, 2023

    9.5/10

    Wonderful little restaurant with a super friendly wait staff, absolutely wonderful tasting menu and outstanding wine pairing. We chose the half option of small pours with each of our four courses and enjoyed it tremendously. Wonderful memory of our trip to Amsterdam. Very good value for quality of food and ambiance. Highly recommend.

  • Alexander S.5 reviews

    May 26, 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant is a hidden gem. The food is simply perfect: creative, sofisticated and tasty. The service is the exact blend between friendliness and respect to the best Italian traditional osterias. I’m summary, the experience is like you came to visit a family member and discovered that he/she is now an awarded chef.

  • Martin S.1 review

    May 19, 2023

    9.5/10

    Interesting food combinations. And the wine pairing option was a bonus.

  • Biljana K.1 review

    May 20, 2023

    10/10

    We were lucky to be able to reserve a table for a Saturday evening at short notice. The food is simply AMAZING. Living in Paris, we are spoiled for choice, but Osteria Moderna managed to surprise us in the most positive way. The dishes are small pieces of art, beautifully looking and even better tasting. The surprise menu was full of, well, surprises. The pasta with liquid parmigiano in a prawn reduction blew us away, innovative and mouth watering. The wine pairing was great too, with some unusual Italian quality wines. If you likes desert wines, ask Michele about his special find, it will not disappoint. Overall, this Italian gem in Mokum is worth a detour!

  • Jie C.1 review

    May 10, 2023

    10/10

    What a great and cozy restaurant. Located inn a nice neighborhood. Kind and attentive service, great food, beautiful wine. High recommend. Will definitely come back again.

  • Jack H.2 reviews

    April 29, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing, favourite Italian in Amsterdam The flavour,

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    ThanksJack!!!

  • Jasper K.1 review

    April 4, 2023

    9/10

    Food was absolutely great. With a cream of roasted garlic and anchocy with the rib eye being the absolute highlight! However, four courses took four hours. And that's too long for my attention span and hunger levels haha.

  • Aldo B.

    Aldo B.64 reviews

    March 4, 2023

    10/10

    Georgia and Michele welcomed me with love and dedication. I ordered the 4 course menu. I was stunned by the quality and the freshness of the food. Absolutely yes and absolutely we will we each other again.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Grazie Aldo. A presto!!

  • Mai K.1 review

    February 18, 2023

    10/10

    The food is amazing, the stuff is very friendly. I have been 5 times in the past year and I was never disappointed. Prices very reasonable. Would Definitely go again :)

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Thanks Mai, see you soon!!!

  • Ben B.1 review

    February 1, 2023

    5/10

    Food quality was all over the board (great steak, bad vegetable pairing like a wedge of burnt chewy onion). Elements of the dishes felt disconnected and for a pre fixe menu, that’s a huge disappointment

  • Ank B.8 reviews

    December 28, 2022

    10/10

    We love Italy: the food, the wine, people and culture. This restaurant takes you to Italy and let you experience all the great aspects of this beautiful country! Thank you for a lovely evening and great food! Next time we’re in Adam we will visit again

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Thanks and see you soon then!!! Happy New Year!!

  • Dragana M.18 reviews

    December 2, 2022

    10/10

    Real Italian food. Superb taste and very good service.

  • Stefano G.7 reviews

    November 26, 2022

    10/10

    We had a fantastic dinner, chef Georgia has delighted us with her 4 gang menu and the chose of wines that come with it was excellent. Great ambient for a romantic dinner.

  • tijmen B.1 review

    November 19, 2022

    10/10

    Just great!!! The food, the attention, the wine, the service. And still so humble.... I believe this restaurant will soon be well recognized by many many more fans!!!

  • Charbel h.9 reviews

    November 6, 2022

    10/10

    What I like about this place is that the two owners are the chef and the sommelier so the wine selection on offer is excellent and match very well with the food. The food is very good and it’s a surprise 3/4/5 course menu, u choose. It was a nice experience.

  • Thiago M.100 reviews

    November 4, 2022

    10/10

    Great finding in a rather hidden location near Leidseplein. Delicious dishes and great service.

  • Amber B.1 review

    September 15, 2022

    10/10

    This Italian restaurant is a little gem with authentic Italian food with matching great service. They have a great wine list too. .,.,......................

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Thanks for your kind words. See you soon then, maybe for our degustation for dinner. Arrivederci

  • Rosie G.1 review

    September 13, 2022

    10/10

    Wonderful time. We recommend doing the wine pairing, it was our favorite part and was very well done. This is a great place to go for a special occasion, as the hosts allow you to take your time and the meal is also an experience.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    grazie mille!!!

  • Valerie R.1 review

    September 10, 2022

    5.5/10

    We were looking forward to it: surprise menu italian style, in a small restaurant with a nice design! - wine: great choice - service/ friendly - meal: way too salty (raviolis and even the tomato icecream).. our neighbors even sent one plate back. First plate was original but fruits used were not ripe?.. - the evening was spoiled by a table of 6 with 2 crying babie and a toddler -tough luck- and the average waiting time of 45 mn between the courses. - it felt way to expensive: for 280eu for four.. We do assume we ll get more quality and tempo. Maybe it was a day off for the team?

  • Coll C.1 review

    September 8, 2022

    10/10

    We loved everything about our meals! The atmosphere, the owners and then the three course tasting menu was magnificent! Truly the combinations the chef did were out of this world! We loved it so much we went back in the same week. Worth every euro and more!

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Thank you, it was our pleasure. Have a safe trip back to US. Arrivederci!!!

  • Shaked S.

    Shaked S.1 review

    July 29, 2022

    10/10

    Wow! The food was great and the service was even better. 10/10 would recommend!

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    thank you very much!!! see you soon

  • Giovanni F.67 reviews

    June 26, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, real authentic Italian food in a nice surroundings of Amsterdam, close to Vondelpark and Museumplein. Strongly suggested for those looking for a quiet place and quality food.

    Osteria ModernaOwner

    Grazie Giovanni. Alla prossima!!!

  • Martin O.25 reviews

    June 11, 2022

    9.5/10

    Second time here and it was even better than the last time. The food was delicious- especially the risotto!

  • Martin O.25 reviews

    June 4, 2022

    9.5/10

    Really tasty Italian food!

  • Richard V.5 reviews

    May 31, 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic food, surprise menu 3 or 4 courses, light, but proper Italian dishes beautifully presented and very very tasty. Have few times now in last month and every time several tables full of Italian people. That's a sign that this is really good Italian food!

  • Gianluca F.

    Gianluca F.5 reviews

    May 31, 2022

    10/10

    An immersive experience of modern italian food. Unmissable journey amongst flavours and textures. Will come back!!

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

29 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.